Newly Elected Odisha MLAs Take Oath

June 18, 2024 – The newly elected Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs) took their oaths today at the Odisha Assembly, administered by Pro Tem Speaker Ranendra Pratap Swain. The 3-day session of the 17th Odisha Legislative Assembly commenced with Chief Minister Mohan Mahi taking the first oath, followed by the two Deputy Chief Ministers, KV Singhdeo and Pravati Parida.

The special session, beginning on Tuesday, is set for the oath-taking ceremony of all 147 MLAs, scheduled over June 18 and 19. Notable figures including BJD president and Hinjili MLA Naveen Patnaik also took their oaths today. 

Pro-Tem Speaker Ranendra Pratap Swain, the senior-most MLA, was sworn in by Governor Raghubar Das two days ago and will continue to administer oaths throughout the session. The election for the Odisha Assembly Speaker is scheduled for June 20, with nominations set to take place on June 19.

This session marks the beginning of the new BJP government in the state and the first convening of the newly formed 17th Odisha Legislative Assembly.

You May Also Like

More From Author

+ There are no comments

Add yours